Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

September 4, 2020

President Donald J. Trump The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President,

Thank you for your bold efforts to protect the sanctity of human life. We sincerely appreciate your letter to Speaker Pelosi promising to veto any spending bill that would undermine current federal pro-life policies, including those that protect taxpayer dollars from funding "embryodestructive research." We are also particularly grateful for your efforts to protect life in federally funded research by limiting the use of fetal tissue obtained from unborn children killed by abortion. We write today to urge you to issue an Executive Order to end taxpayer funding of human embryonic stem cell (hESC) research and to redirect these scarce federal research dollars toward alternatives that make a real difference for patients.

We are dismayed that in spite of the strong pro-life stance of your Administration, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) has not only continued but accelerated the Obama-era policy of funding research that involves the destruction of young human embryos. In fact, since you took office in 2017, NIH has approved 106 new hESC lines at the expense of taxpayers, including the 70 new lines approved by NIH Director Francis Collins on May 29, 2020, which brought the total number of approved hESC lines to 484. The Administration has spent between \$250 to \$300 million taxpayer dollars each year on this life-destroying research, surpassing the Obama Administration by tens of millions of dollars. NIH estimates that it will spend another \$321 million on hESC research in Fiscal Year 2020. These expenditures incentivize the continued destruction of human life and leave a moral blot on the NIH. We believe pro-life Americans would be deeply troubled to learn of the extent of NIH's practices and ongoing plans.

These expenditures for hESC research are not only unethical, but also inconsistent with longstanding law protecting human embryos. The Dickey-Wicker Amendment, first adopted in 1996, prohibits federal funds from being used to support "research in which a human embryo or embryos are destroyed, discarded, or knowingly subjected to risk of injury or death greater than that allowed for research on fetuses in utero" (sec. 508 of Division A of Public Law 116-94, December 20, 2019). This longstanding amendment has been included in annual appropriations for nearly 25 years. NIH has employed fallacious reasoning in attempts to skirt these protections, but its expenditures remain inconsistent with federal law.

It is noteworthy that the destruction of human embryos has not yielded the miraculous benefits that advocates promised two decades ago. After more than \$2 billion in federal taxpayer funding — and much more than that in state funding — there has yet to be proof of a single patient's life being saved through embryonic stem cell treatments. At the same time, adult stem cells have treated more than one and a half million patients, and recent scientific advances promise even

more benefits from the use of adult stem cells. It is therefore in the interest of all taxpayers to redirect federal monies away from hESC research and toward efforts that bring real benefits to patients.

For these reasons, we urge you to issue an Executive Order to end taxpayer funding for hESC research and revoke former President Barack Obama's Executive Order 13505 of March 9, 2009, which removed limitations on such funding. Ending federal support for hESC research would not reduce NIH's lifesaving research by one dollar, but would instead free up scarce resources for NIH to put toward promising research on adult and induced pluripotent stem cells.

Human embryos are young human beings, and human life should never be expended as a mere means of benefiting another. We urge you to bring an end to NIH's unethical and ineffective hESC research efforts and support research that will respect the sanctity of human life and deliver real benefits for patients.

Sincerely,

Roger F. Wicker

United States Senator

Muhael B. Eng

Michael B. Enzi United States Senator

Cindy Hyde-Smith

United States Senator

Kevin Cramer

United States Senator

Jene Dams

Steve Daines

United States Senator

M. Michael Rounds

United States Senator

Mike Braun

Inited States Senator

Lindsey Graham

United States Senator

James M. Inhofe United States Senator

United States Senator

Pat Roberts United States Senator

Marco Rubio United States Senator

Kelly Loeffler United States Senator

Rob Portman United States Senator

United States Senator

Jnited States Senator

James Lankford United States Senator

Tom Cotton United States Senator

James E. Risch United States Senator

Jerry Moran United States Senator

Mike Crapo United States Senator

United States Senator



Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz
Member of Congress

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

Steve Scalise
Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber
Member of Congress

22 Mg

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

fin Bank,

Im Banks Member of Congress

Doug Collins Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Bill Flores

Member of Congress

Bire Flores

Michael Guest Member of Congress ZW. Mall

Roger Marshall, M.D. Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

David P. Roe, M.D. Member of Congress

Dain P. Lee

Carol D. Miller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Greg Gianforte
Member of Congress

6. Margan M.

H. Morgan Griffith Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress Rete Olson

Pete Olson Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Tim Bilita

David Kustoff Member of Congress

David Kust

Ralph Abraham, M.D. Member of Congress

Jody B. Hice

Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Andy Biggs Member of Congress

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

Mo Brooks
Member of Congress

Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress Tom Emmer
Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

Ted Budd Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

John Shimkus Member of Congress

Rick Crawford Member of Congress

Ross Spano " Member of Congress Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Robert B. Adarbase 5

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

K. Michael Conaway Member of Congress

Jim Hagedorn Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress Steve King
Steve King
Member of Congress

Steve Chahat

Steve Chabot Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Warren Davidson Member of Congress

Ben Cline

Member of Congress

Robert E. Latta

Member of Congress

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Greg Pence
Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

Tim Walberg
Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler

Member of Congress

Fred Keller Member of Congress

Ron Wright Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jim Jordan

Member of Congress

Jeff Fortenberry

Member of Congress

Elise Stefanik

Member of Congress

Blaine Luetkemeyer Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert

Member of Congress

David Rouzer

Member of Congress

Steven M. Palazzo Member of Congress

Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Bill Johnson

CC: The Honorable Alex Azar

Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services