United States Senate WASHINGTON, DC 20510

June 30, 2015

The Honorable Gina McCarthy Administrator Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20460 The Honorable Tom Vilsack Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, DC 20250

The Honorable Dr. Ernest Moniz Secretary U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, DC 20585

Dear Administrator McCarthy, Secretary Moniz, and Secretary Vilsack:

We write to support biomass energy as a sustainable, responsible, renewable, and economically significant energy source. Federal policies across all departments and agencies must remove any uncertainties and contradictions through a clear, unambiguous message that forest bioenergy is part of the nation's energy future.

Many states are relying on renewable biomass to meet their energy goals, and we support renewable biomass to create jobs and economic growth while meeting our nation's energy needs. A comprehensive science, technical, and legal administrative record supports a clear and simple policy establishing the benefits of energy from forest biomass. Federal policies that add unnecessary costs and complexity will discourage rather than encourage investment in working forests, harvesting operations, bioenergy, wood products, and paper manufacturing. Unclear or contradictory signals from federal agencies could discourage biomass utilization as an energy solution.

The carbon neutrality of forest biomass has been recognized repeatedly by numerous studies, agencies, institutions, legislation, and rules around the world, and there has been no dispute about the carbon neutrality of biomass derived from residuals of forest products manufacturing and agriculture. Our constituents employed in the biomass supply chain deserve a federal policy that recognizes the clear benefits of forest bioenergy. We urge you to ensure that federal policies are consistent and reflect the carbon neutrality of forest bioenergy.

Sincerely,

Suran M. Collins

Susan M. Collins United States Senator

United States Senator

.a.a. KellyAyotte

United States Senator

Roy Blunt United States Senator

John Boozman United States Senator

Richard Burr United States Senator

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

M.D. assic

Bill Cassidy United States Senator

Thad Cochran United States Senator

Join Cornyn United States Senator

N

Tummy Buldwin United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Joe Donnelly United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Al Franken United States Senator

Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Angus S King, Jr. United States Senator

on la

Tom Cotton United States Senator

Mike Crapo United States Senator

Steve Daines United States Senator

Cory Garaner United States Senator

Lindsey Graham United States Senator

Johnny Isaskon United States Senator

Ron Johns

United States Senator

David Perdue United States Senator

Amy Klobichar United States Senator

Joe Manchin, III United States Senator

Alles

Barbara A. Mikulski United States Senator

Claire A. McCaskill United States Senator

Patty Merray United States Senator

Bill Nelson United States Senator

tanne Shakeen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Debbie Stabeno

United States Senator

Rob Portman United States Senator

James D. Risch United States Senator

sions

United States Senator

John Thune United States Senator

Ilia

Thom Tillis United States Senator

David Vitter United States Senator

Ion Tester United States Senator

R Warner

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Tim Scott United States Senator

Richard C. Shelby United States Senator

a Voomen

Patrick J. Toomey United States Senator

Roger F. Wicker United States Senator