Wicker & Hyde-Smith Cosponsor Stop Dangerous Sanctuary Cities Act

May 23, 2019

U.S. Senators Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) today signed as original cosponsors of the Stop Dangerous Sanctuary Cities Act, legislation to deny certain federal funding to cities, counties, and states that adopt so-called “sanctuary city” policies.

The Stop Dangerous Sanctuary Cities Act is intended to hinder the adoption of sanctuary city policies that impede U.S. immigration law enforcement, which includes rejecting requests to detain criminal aliens sought by federal authorities.

“It is time to put an end to sanctuary cities in the United States,” Wicker said.  “When states and localities disregard federal immigration policies, they ignore the rule of law and the very real threat posed by those illegal immigrants who engage in criminal activity.  I will not stand by while some areas in our nation actively encourage unauthorized immigration and disregard public safety to suit their own political agenda.”

“The ongoing crisis on the border should prompt people to say enough is enough.  Cities and states should not be willfully blocking enforcement of our immigration laws.  Doing so defies the rule of law and endangers the American public,” said Hyde-Smith, who serves on the Senate Homeland Appropriations Subcommittee.

The legislation, in addition to withholding certain non-law enforcement federal grant funds, would also provide more liability protections for law enforcement officers and jurisdictions that cooperate with federal requests for criminal alien detention assistance.

Eight states and more than 170 cities and counties around the country currently provide safe-haven to illegal immigrants as “sanctuary cities,” as defined by the bill.

Introduced by Senator Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), the Stop Dangerous Sanctuary Cities Act is also cosponsored by Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), and Thom Tillis (R-N.C.).

The Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association, National Association of Police Organizations, and the International Union of Police Associations, AFL-CIO have endorsed the legislation.

Wicker and Hyde-Smith cosponsored identical legislation in the 115th Congress.