Wicker, Merkley, Colleagues Introduce Resolution Celebrating National Nurses Week

May 9, 2023

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker, R-Miss., and Jeff Merkley, D-Ore., teamed up with Representatives Dave Joyce, R-Ohio, Suzanne Bonamici, D-Ore., Jen Kiggans, R-Va., and Lauren Underwood, D-Ill., to introduce a bipartisan, bicameral resolution recognizing National Nurses Week.

The resolution honors and celebrates the important contributions of America’s nurses to safe, high-quality care and the invaluable role that nurses play in patient care every day.

“Nurses are integral to our nation’s health care system,” Wicker said. “They ensure patients receive timely and quality care, and their dedication is unmatched. Our country needs more of these heroes, and I hope young people will consider joining the nursing profession. This resolution is a small token of our gratitude for their service.”

“As the husband of a nurse, I’ve seen close-up how difficult nurses’ jobs are and how important they are to patients,” Merkley said. “Nurses in every corner of Oregon and all across the country provide crucial care, support, and advocacy for their patients and families during some of their most difficult moments. This week, let’s all take a moment to appreciate and celebrate the nurses in our communities for their dedication and care, and recommit ourselves to doing all we can to provide them with the support they need to keep saving lives.”

In addition to Wicker and Merkley, this resolution is cosponsored by Senators John Barrasso, R-Wyo., Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn., Richard Blumenthal, D-Conn., Cory Booker, D-N.J., Katie Britt, R-Ala., Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio, Shelly Moore Capito, R-W.Va., Catherine Cortez Masto, D-Nev., Kevin Cramer, R-N.D., Steve Daines, R-Mont., Tammy Duckworth, D-Ill., John Fetterman, D-Penn., Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, Martin Heinrich, D-N.M., John Hickenlooper, D-Colo., John Hoeven, R-N.D., Ben Luján, D-N.M., Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., Alex Padilla, D-Calif., Gary Peters, D-Mich., Kyrsten Sinema, I-Ariz., Tina Smith, D-Minn., Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., Thom Tillis, R-N.C., Chris Van Hollen, D-Md., and Peter Welch, D-Vt.

In addition to Joyce, Bonamici, Kiggans, and Underwood, this resolution is cosponsored by Representatives Donald Payne, D-N.J., Raúl Grijalva, D-Ariz., Stephen Lynch, D-Mass., Lisa Blunt-Rochester, D-Del., Brian Fitzpatrick, R-Penn., Brian Higgins, D-N.Y., Steve Cohen, D-Tenn., Emanuel Cleaver, D-Mo., Bill Pascrell, D-N.J., and Kelly Armstrong, R-N.D.

Full text of the resolution can be found here.